Next Meeting
Future Meetings
Past Speakers


Member Profiles
Membership Requirements
Member Rosters
   (password required)

Art Show
Past Art Shows
Writers' Conference
Past Writers' Conferences

National Organization
Past Presidents
Girls' Court





 NLAPW Honolulu Branch presents its Biennial Art Show       

"Gloom to Bloom"
April 26- June 27, 2009

Thanks go to the many people and companies who helped make this show possible. First, a huge mahalo to Pegge Hopper and Roy Venters, our jurors. Once again, thanks to the Gloria Foss Fund for donating the first prize, "Best in Show," which was awarded this year to Sabra Feldstein for her mixed media entry, "Chairs."

Thanks also to Sabra Feldstein for contributing the Joyce Award, in honor of her mother. The Joyce Award went to Barbara Fredrick for her painting " From Valley Heights." Margo Goodwill won the newly created Mary Richards Award for her "Arresting Veils of Mystery." Donations which made this award possible were received from Gail Hazlehurst, Shan Correa, Nancy Moss, Walter Foss, Joy Black and Joan Gencarelli. The Award was created in honor of a long-time member of the Honolulu Branch who passed away this year.

Click on picture for larger images.

Sabra Feldstein standing between her Chairs which won the Gloria Foss Award

Ria Keltz-Remenar co-organizer and winner of Members Choice Award

Margo Goodwill's "Arresting Veils of Mystery"

Barbara Fredrick's "From Valley Heights"

In-kind contributions, donated by Hawaiian Graphics and 1Stop Art Supplies, were awarded to Gail Hazlehurst ("Coral Reef Series," glazed ceramic) and Dee Van Dyke ("A Fungus Among Us").

Gail Hazlehurst "Coral Reef Series" glazed ceramic

Dee Van Dyke's "A Fungus Among Us"

Ria Keltz-Remenar's "Northern Lights" won the Members' Choice Award.


The May 17 ceremony wouldn't have been the same without the incredible talents of Pierre Grill, musician extraordinaire, and our favorite singer, Rea Fox. The event was also enlivened by the readings of Letters members Dorothy Wright, Jan McGrath, Nancy Moss and Victoria Gail-White and the lovely hula dancing of another Letters member, Carol Egan.

Pierre Grill musician extraordinaire

Kudos to Ria Keltz-Remenar and Gail Hazlehurst, organizers of this year's Biennial Art Show.

Home  |  Meetings  |  Newsletters  |  Members  |  Membership  |  Writers' Conference  |  Art Show  | History  |  Contact

Copyright 2009 - The National League of American Pen Women - Honolulu - All rights reserved